Take 20

Take 20. Take it! And may it be gone forever.

As of August 7, 2016, I am down 20 pounds, from 271.5 (45.2 BMI) to 251.5 (41.9 BMI). I probably could have done better, but I fell off the wagon twice. Falling off the wagon for me means gluttony. I mean, human beings should not be able to put away that much food.

But let’s focus on the positive for now. So, what have I done to achieve this progress?

Food       Primarily, I have focused on changing my diet to include high fat, moderate protein and low carb. This is sometimes called a ketogenic diet for which you essentially eat high fat, moderate protein and low carb. The macros generally look like:

LCHF Macros

Well, that’s my aim. To be honest, though, I’m not really sure what my macros have been. I feel like I’ve been eating mostly protein with some fat and as few carbs as possible. I’ve certainly cut out wheat, potatoes, and most sugars and processed foods. I still eat/drink Blow Pops, sugar free Jell-O with whipped cream, sugar free sodas, Crystal Light, cheese, meat products like bacon and deli meats, and condiments like mayo and aioli–and things along those lines. Just a helluva lot less of them. I focus on whole foods, drinking more water (which for me meant any water) and processed foods with as small an ingredient list as possible (pure sour cream, for example).

Calories     I’d say that I haven’t tracked macros mostly because I’ve been focusing on a very low calorie (VLC) diet, about 550-795 calories a day. Before anyone goes crazy on me, let me ask if you’ve ever calculated how long it would take to lose about 150 pounds. I have: YEARS. It’s hard to stay dedicated and motivated knowing that you won’t even see a difference after months of hard work and then when you do you are nowhere near where you need to be. So, I choose a VLC LCHF diet comprised primarily of healthful foods to help me stay motivated. My body has plenty of fat to burn for fuel, so I figure it is OK for now through January. I’ll adjust as I go based on my physical well-being and needs.

Exercise      Not really a big fan of it, not anymore anyway. I’ve never liked exercising. I get ugly cranky when gearing up to exercise. That said, I used to run 4 miles a day, rain, snow or shine. I used to be able to do two hours of Tae Bo in a row. I cycled 50 miles like it was nothing. I was strong and fit. Of course, I was a normal weight back then.

Frankly, it’s painful moving this body today. I don’t mean that in a “ooh, I hate to exercise kind of way.” What I mean is that moving a body this heavy actually hurts. Fat bodies don’t work very well. Feet aren’t made to carry this much excess weight, you can’t move properly, and things rub together that shouldn’t. There is chafing, people! Chafing is like having rug burn on your essential bits. You tend to want to avoid that.

Well, I don’t like being unfit and I miss being able to run 4 miles or doing Tao Bo or a spin class if I want to. At this point it is probably more of a capability thing. I am incapable because I am morbidly obese. Not cool. I actually want to jam at Soul Cycle. Running 4 miles and taking a hip hop exercise or spin class is my goal. Long ways off.

So, I started walking. Not walking like going for a daily 20-minute walk because it is good for my heart health. Not up my alley (although it probably should be). Me? I need a purpose and a more tangible goal. For example, I just moved and thought it was a great opportunity to explore my new neighborhood. So, I will search for a store or event on my GPS and walk there. I had to work up to making it to my local Sephora at .09 miles away. Beet red and dripping in sweat, I picked out my new Nars blush. There’s a big part of me that thinks that that is pathetic; there’s no reason why I should be able to do more than that. Pretty sure that’s unproductive thinking that will get me stuck in the fat trap, I shove it to the back of my mind and try to appreciate the fact that I got off the couch.

But I don’t want to walk. I want to run and spin my ass off! (Literally.) So, I recently upped the ante and downloaded a couch to 5k app

icon175x175
5k Runner by Fitness 22:
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/5k-runner-0-to-5k-trainer./id448357306?mt=8

 

that promises to take me from zero ability to run to being able to get through a 5k in 8 weeks time. Yeah, baby. Essentially, you do do the app, which starts out alternating walking and running for a minute at a time for 30 minutes three days per week.

The first day was terrible. My feet and shins hurt so badly within the first 5 minutes that I spent the other 25 wondering whether I could convince myself to do it again, and again. I woke up the next morning and look up running shoes for fat people. By the afternoon I had myself a new pair of Nike Zoom Odyssey’s. The next evening I did the app again. No foot or shin pain the entire 30 minutes! I was encouraged.

This might be doable after all.

 

One thought on “Take 20

Leave a Reply

