What’s to Eat?

I started feeling kinda bored with what I am “allowed” to eat. In order to figure out whether I really am eating only 2 or 3 things or if I’m feeling that way because eating used to be all bet’s are off (that is, I could eat anything, any time, anywhere), I decided to make a “pantry list.” I also read somewhere that most people consistently only eat about 12 different meals, so I thought I’d list some meal ideas as well. In addition to helping me answer the boredom question, it’ll also give me a go to for grocery shopping and make meal planning easier–a must for someone like me who stress eats in response to work overload. I have a long way to go and the more prepared I can be to stay on track for the duration, the better.

For better or worse, here’s what I eat:

Meat/Deli Seafood

  • Salmon
  • FlounderEpic Bar
  • Cod
  • Canned albacore tuna in water
  • Canned crab
  • Canned ham
  • Canned white chicken
  • Pastured
    chicken breast
  • Bubba Angus Burger
  • BaconMeat Sticks
  • Salami
  • Turkey Pepperoni
  • Deli ham
  • Deli oven roasted turkey
  • 100% Sugar Free Uncured Bacon & Pork Epic Bar
  • Original Tom Tom’s Turkey Snack Stick
  • Original Matt’s Select Pepperoni Snack Stick
  • Original Jessie’s Beef Snack Stick

Fruits

  • Avocado
  • Tomato
  • Lemon

Vegetables

  • Endive
  • Lettuce
  • Celery
  • Cucumber
  • Spinach

Full Fate Dairy

  • Sour cream
  • Cream cheese
  • Heavy cream
  • Labne
  • Laughing Cow cheese
  • Original Reddi Wip
  • Butter
  • Ghee
  • Parmesan cheese
  • Munster cheese
  • Mozzarella cheese
  • Cheddar cheese
  • Baby Swiss cheese
  • Feta cheese
  • Provolone

Spices/Sauces/Condiments

  • Coconut oil sprayAioli
  • Yellow mustard
  • Miracle Whip
  • RelishArtichoke
  • Salsa
  • Aged balsamic vinegar
  • Low sodium chicken broth
  • Parsley
  • Trader Joe’s Mustard Garlic Aioli
  • Trader Joe’s Artichoke Spread
  • Old Bay Seasoning
  • Cumin
  • Paprika
  • Salt
  • PepperSeasoning
  • Sadaf Tandoori Seasoning
  • Sadaf Chicken Kebob Seasoning
  • Sadaf Yogurt Dip Seasoning
  • Marie’s Blue Cheese
    Dressing
  • Kraft Fat Free
    Zesty Italian Dressing

Beverages

  • Diet Coke
  • Sparkling water
  • Still spring water
  • Crystal Light
  • Tea

Other

  • Sugar Free Jell-O
  • Dark Chocolate Crunch Balance Bar
  • Dark Chocolate Coconut Balance Bar
  • Boost Glucose Control meal replacement drink

 

 

My go-to meals include:

  1. Tuna with Mirable Whip, mustard, chopped tomato, and celery on endive or in a lettuce wrap
  2. Fried cod with lemon or Old Bay Seasoning and butter
  3. Steamed salmon with mustard aioli
  4. Bubba Burger patty with Miracle Whip, cheddar , lettuce and tomato
  5. Epic Bar or Tom/Matt/Jessie snack stick and a cheese stick
  6. Balance Bar
  7. Boost Glucose Control drink
  8. Salami and provolone pack
  9. Avocado, salsa and sour cream with parmesan “chips”
  10. Chicken kebob with labne
  11. Deconstructed BLT with Miracle Whip
  12. Sliced ham or turkey roll ups with mustard, Miracle Whip and cheese
  13. Ham and cream cheese roll ups
  14. Tomato, cucumber, balsamic, and feta salad
  15. Celery sticks with cream cheese or Laughing Cow
  16. Canned ham and Miracle Whip on parmesan “chips”
  17. Canned chicken with Miracle Whip and celery in lettuce wraps

 

Is there room for improvement? For sure. There are a few things that I’d like to stop consuming, such as Diet Coke (regularly) and Reddi Wip, deli and related meats, Sugar free Jell-O and Crystal Light (occasionally). I’d also like to use a less processed mayo and make my own sauces and condiments. Some things can stall my weight loss, such as the VLC approach, chicken broth and too many vegetables, that I really question. In addition, I have some food issues that limit variety, including a newly discovered egg intolerance (I’m truly bummed about this!), and allergies to wheat/gluten, nuts, and apples.

In general, though, my goal is to try to eat food as close to the way it came out of the ground or off the bone as much as possible. In addition, I try to make sure that meat is grass fed, poultry pastured, and seafood wild caught. I also avoid added sugar and processed meats with nitrates, hormones and antibiotics.

For convenience, I will use frozen foods such as fish and broccoli and prepared foods like aioli. If I use a prepared food, I try to make sure it has a short ingredient list and is as low sugar (no added) and carb and higher in protein and/or fat as possible.

Finally, I currently only calculate calories and eyeball macros, mostly because of time–and because the VLC aspect of my diet kind of puts a ceiling on fats since they are so caloric. Thus, I suspect that I’m not really eating keto, or only mildly keto on good days. As long as I keep losing weight, approximate keto and feel healthy and energetic, I’ll stick with calculating calories and eyeballing macros. When time allows, I’ll start calculating nutrients and macros for the meals listed above…but I’ll save that for another day.

Right now, I have to get ready to go to a welcome-the-newbies reception for work. Am I worried about/wondering what I am going to eat and drink? You bet.

 

Leave a Reply

